Here it is….the First Book I’ll Honor!

“The Secretary’s Guide to Dealing with People” by Jean Vermes, Published by Parker Publishing Company Inc., 1964, West Nyack, NY

 

I’m taking notes because EVERYTHING depends on me!

Washroom gossip and luncheon chitchat are two of my resume highlights.

Dramatic tension comes to a boiling point, then pushed over the edge by the mention of clam chowder. Too bad I have to get ready for work now. The next half a day my mind will be wondering just what the hell could be this serious.

FIN

13 comments on “Here it is….the First Book I’ll Honor!

  1. There are so many awesome, awful books out there. You should have unending material for this blog! I look forward to the next one.

  2. Thanks! I used to work at a publishing company and always marveled at the….umm..no other word for it….CRAP….that actually got published! One title in particular haunted me forever and made me realize that ANYONE can write a book: “Love with a Warm Cowboy.” Oh, if only I could find a copy for this blog. Thanks for stopping by…and thanks for being MY FIRST follow :)

  3. What a great idea! Can I please borrow this book when you are done!

  4. Thanks :) Sure, you can borrow it!

  5. Ad-libb3d says:

    Seriously? Leaving me hanging like that? Her whole business career depends on the answer!

  6. javaj240 says:

    Great stuff! Some of the old children’s books have some great advice.

  7. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Her business career is on the balance and you left us hanging without an answer. Or is this one of those “choose your own adventure” type books?

  8. Awesome first choice! I love the subtitle/ tag line: What to do when EVERYTHING depends on you! I’m a little confused by the excerpts though. Is it fiction or non-fiction? With that cliffhanger ending, I’ll be back for more!

    • Glad you approve! This book is a non-fiction book from the 1960’s written for secretaries. It totally reminds me of that old movie with Joan Crawford…”The Best of Everything.” I completely recommend that movie! I’ve seen it a million times. Thanks for stopping by :)

  9. What a hoot! Thank you for this morning’s giggle.

Leave a Reply

